top of page
A Lasting Truth Is Change
Curated by Yolande Zola Zoli van der Heide, organized by Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven. April, 2022.

With a playful design, A Lasting Truth Is Change breaks through standard ideas about collecting and presenting art. The Van Abbemuseum invites you to take a fresh look. The artworks in this exhibition encourage you to look at the world you live in differently; to be curious about new stories that inspire, excite and activate.


To lend you a hand in gaining new insights, the exhibition shakes up the hierarchy between ‘beginners’ and ‘experts’. Who is in charge? And who decides what is allowed? This set-up challenges visitors - children and adults, experienced and inexperienced - to engage in conversation together about the themes the exhibition addresses.

A Lasting Truth Is Change brings together some ninety pieces from the museum's own collection with ten well-chosen loans, including several new works. This combination of established names and emerging makers questions the composition of the Van Abbemuseum's collection: who is included and why? And who is missing? This makes A Lasting Truth Is Change an exciting counterpart to the acclaimed multi-year collection presentation Delinking and Relinking, which opened in September 2021.


Karel Appel, Rasheed Araeen, Mercedes Azpilicueta, Jo Baer, Joseph Beuys, Ansuya Blom, Marinus Boezem, Boudry / Lorenz, Marcel Broodthaers, stanley brouwn, Günter Brus, Simnikiwe Buhlungu, Daniel Buren, Kees Buurman, André Cadere, Heinrich Campendonk, Hendrik Chabot, Jan Dibbets, Theo van Doesburg & Sophie-Taeuber-Arp & Jean Arp, Jean Dubuffet, Marlene Dumas, Aldo van Eyck, Barry Flanagan, Dan Flavin, G, Isa Genzken, Theaster Gates, & The Black Monks, Dan Graham, Laura Grisi, Guerrilla Girls, Nilbar Güreş, Lubaina Himid, Rebecca Horn, Joan Jonas, Donghwan Kam, Ellsworth Kelly, Iris Kensmil, Natasja Kensmil, Yves Klein, Imi Knoebel, Annette Krauss & Petra Bauer, Fernand Léger, Sol LeWitt, El Lissitzky, Richard Long, Jos Manders, Glenda Martinus, Ana Mendieta, Piet Mondriaan & Museum of American Art, Marlow Moss, Li Mu, Olaf Nicolai, Otobong Nkanga, Christian Nyampeta, Ima-Abasi Okon, Constant Permeke, Pablo Picasso, Michelangelo Pistoletto, Jewyo Rhii, Albert Servaes, Erzen Shkololli, Mounira Al Solh, Mladen Stilinović, Lily van der Stokker, Peter Struycken, Superflex, Jennifer Tee, Dustin Thierry, Niele Toroni, Lawrence Weiner, and Ian Wilson.

bottom of page